PDA

View Full Version : Drums to Bass

Bassix
01-10-2011, 08:47 AM
Hello, All.
I'm a long-time drummer who finally decided to take the plunge and learn bass guitar just over one year ago (01/06/2010). I quickly came to realize that there are no shortcuts (for me, at least) to understanding bass guitar better so I practiced scales, modes, arpeggios, etudes and dexterity exercises (while occasionally learning small portions of songs that I liked :cool: ). It all helped.
I bought TMBG about a month ago so that I could learn some interesting bass lines, improve my music reading skills and get the benefit of "private" lessons. I can honestly say after only one month that I'm learning something new in each lesson (currently learning "Don't Be Bop") and I especially like "playing with the band" after woodshedding on the lessons. I think it's a great course (Ashley isn't bad either). ;)

jthomas353
01-10-2011, 09:15 AM
Hello Bassix,

Welcome to Thunder Row and the TMBG course. Glad you're here. I would imagine being a drummer that you have the timing thing down. Anyways, best of luck to you. Any questions, just ask. Lots of great folks here willing to help out a fellow bass player.

John

Elmeaux
01-10-2011, 09:15 AM
You're in the right place then, fellow student. Glad to hear you're enjoying the course.

TLDTR
01-10-2011, 09:23 AM
Glad to have you on board and look forward to following your progress. Tell us about your gear.
Ed.

Bassix
01-10-2011, 09:40 AM
Hello Bassix,

Welcome to Thunder Row and the TMBG course. Glad you're here. I would imagine being a drummer that you have the timing thing down. Anyways, best of luck to you. Any questions, just ask. Lots of great folks here willing to help out a fellow bass player.

John