PDA

View Full Version : Hear The Light

Elmeaux
02-25-2011, 07:53 AM
You can view the page at http://www.thunderrow.com/content.php?604-See-The-Light

Greg Jewell
02-25-2011, 11:16 AM
Let's see...off shore manufacturer, an optical system that must be kept clean (dirty light / lens means degradation of perception), technology that may not be settled science as applied to bass guitars...it may need time to prove itself to the industry. But it offers a new and creative approach to traditional pick-up engineering.

Elmeaux
02-25-2011, 11:40 AM
It's not a new thing. Been out since about 2005. I had just never seen it before.

It's a speciality market, for sure, but it has a pretty impressive following of bassists who use it. :cool:

Ditto
02-25-2011, 01:49 PM
I like that sound.... Would like to hear it through TUBES!

You think GENZ is paying that guy?

Jauqo III-X
02-26-2011, 08:48 AM
I've been playing a 5 string LW on and off since the early 2000's. The bass is definitely not for every one but the bass does sound nice. There can be a slight learning curve in regards to setting up the action and intonation the instrument. The qaulity is very nice and the weight is very comfortable. One of the more interesting aspects of the LW is how much low end one can get from that oddity of a pickup system. And the lows are not muddy at all. Very clean and even.

The best thing one can do is give a Lightwave bass a spin yourself. You really might be surprised at what you discover.

Jauqo

TLDTR
02-28-2011, 05:22 PM
Hey, Jauqo -

Good to hear from you. If there's an LW at NAMM in Nashville this summer, I'll give it a try. Hope to see you there!
David

Jauqo III-X
03-02-2011, 07:41 AM
Thank you David. Definitely check one out if you see one at summer NAMM.

Jauqo

Bruce Alan
06-29-2011, 10:45 PM