PDA

View Full Version : Greetings From DaveB

DaveB
03-28-2011, 09:39 PM
Hi Thunder Row!

I'm Dave Brown (DaveB) and I'm the proud new owner of a TMBG course. I received my course materials last Thursday and began with Lesson 1 yesterday. I've had my bass (Yamaha RBX260 with a Peavey MicroBass amp) for several years, but never got anything going with it. I bought a computer based training course that was okay but every time I got to where things started to get interesting I had to stop for one reason or another. Then when I tried to get started again I would have to start from scratch (very discouraging). Now that I'm retired and have the time (and TMBG) I think that I can make some real progress.

Let me tell you a little about myself. I was born and raised in Virginia. I attended Lane High School in Charlottesville and Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) in Richmond. I graduated from VCU with a AS in Electrical-Electronics Engineering Technology in 1973. In 1979 I moved to Maryland to work for a NASA contractor (Bendix/AlliedSignal/Honeywell) at the Goddard Space Flight Center supporting NASA's satellite tracking stations. After 30 years in Maryland I retired and moved back to Charlottesville.

Over the years I have had many hobbies including motorcycle riding, flying lessons, target shooting, and photography. My current hobbies are golf, fine cigars, listening to music, collecting movies (DVD and BluRay), and (now) learning bass guitar. My favorite bands are The Beatles, Led Zepplen, The Beatles, Pink Floyd, and The Beatles.

Well, I guess I'd better get back to practice. Those 4X4s aren't gonna learn themselves.

Cheers,
DaveB

P.S. Did I mention that I like The Beatles?

P.P.S This is a picture of me and my bass. Wait a minute! That's not a bass, it's a bass.

thunderman
03-28-2011, 10:58 PM