PDA

View Full Version : What Next??

jpati
05-27-2011, 07:39 AM
I'm new to bass and have been playing now for about 6 months. I am using a Squire BP-15. What should be my next step up in Amps?

Elmeaux
05-27-2011, 08:15 AM
I like the Fender Rumble. They come in combo amps or separate heads and cabs, small practice models, monster stage versions and everything in between...and they sound really good.

SilverFlame46
05-27-2011, 01:07 PM
I don't think you can go wrong with a Fender. But, everyone has their personal preference!!!

Bassix
05-27-2011, 01:24 PM
I like the Acoustic B100 combo amp. It has separate passive and active inputs, four tone controls (low, lo-mid, hi-mid & high), a variable frequency notch (to reduce a selected peak frequency and balance out your sound), a 15" speaker and sounds great. Not sure what you're looking to spend but it costs around $250. I've been able to get some very nice tones with the B100 that I find comparable to those of my (much more expensive :mad:) Mesa Boogie Walkabout.

jpati
05-27-2011, 02:59 PM
Thanks for the input!

Bruce Alan
05-29-2011, 07:20 PM
I'm pretty fond of my Markbass. Several different models, light weight, great tone. I use the CMD 151P for smaller and upright gigs. Something like that may be good to look at.

BillG
06-22-2011, 04:32 PM
Like so many things in life, it depends....

If you are serious and are looking for something to play gigs you should have at least 75-100W for smaller venues. One possibility is to start with an amp head and pick up a separate speaker cabinet. It can be done in pieces so the $$$ outlay is doable.
The nice thing about having a..sayyy... 200-??? watt head is you can put it on any size speaker cab. You aren't going to be able to push the head to max unless the speakers can handle it but it offers an all in one solution. For a small gig use a smaller cab..etc. As your needs grow the head stays with you.

JustJazz
06-22-2011, 06:50 PM