PDA

View Full Version : Default strings on Ibanez SR300

ssahlander
07-05-2011, 03:26 PM
Hi!
My first bass was a cheap Harley Benton which I used for a couple of days before sending it back to Thomann.de. Today they sent me the Ibanez SR300 I ordered instead :)

Does anyone know what kind of default strings Ibanez have on that?
Since I'm a total beginner have I no idea what strings I should be using. In general, is there a good set of strings for a beginner? Should I replace the ones which comes with the bass?

Elmeaux
07-05-2011, 03:58 PM
Ibanez basses come strung with ELIXIR strings. A little too greasy feeling for me, but a lot of people like them and they are definitely quality.

TobiasMan
07-06-2011, 11:02 AM
If this is a new bass, get a setup done on it. Few come from the factory with a good setup and the difference in play-ability between a poorly setup bass and a well set up one can be night and day. Well worth the few extra coins to get a setup done.

Bruce Alan
07-06-2011, 01:32 PM
Since I'm a total beginner have I no idea what strings I should be using. In general, is there a good set of strings for a beginner? Should I replace the ones which comes with the bass?

Here's a vague answer: any strings you eventually, through experimentation, discover you like the best. :) Seriously, there are no strings I can think of that are better for a specific bass than any others (exceptions being maybe flat wounds are gentler on a fretless, etc.). It all comes down to years of trying different strings and tripping upon the set you like most.

A big help is the opinions of others on what they've used over the years and how those various strings react. But in the end, it's all up to your fingers and ears.

ssahlander
07-06-2011, 02:01 PM
Thanks folks!
Luckily for me is my friend, and boss at work a very good bass player and (former) bass teacher. So he can help me set up the bass. He was the one who told me to get rid of the Harley Benton and buy a proper bass ;)