PDA

View Full Version : Hi, from British Columbia

ArtLiestman
07-18-2011, 06:28 PM
Greetings, all.

I've come to TMBG and bass playing as my career is moving towards retirement (in a couple of years, I hope).

I've been interested in music all of my life. Both my mother and grandmother were both piano teachers, so I heard a lot of music growing up. I studied guitar as a teenager and enjoyed playing mostly on my own.

As a graduate student (in computer science, not music), I spent my evenings in local jazz clubs and eventually decided to take up the acoustic bass. I took lessons for a couple of years through the University, learning mostly classical technique for bowed bass. I also had an electric bass to play with, but never had the time to be serious about it. I enjoyed both basses, but didn't really progress very far.

Near the end of my graduate career, I got interested in African drumming and spent the next 30+ years regarding myself as a hand drummer (in addition to my day job as a University professor). I was good enough to play with other players who were full-time professionals, did a lot of playing locally and even a bit of touring further afield. Of course, this has nothing much to do with bass playing other than explaining why I didn't continue with the bass.

I was drawn back into the bass world when I first saw a video of the Kala U-bass. That appealed to me as a small instrument that might easily fit into my house (compared to that acoustic bass that I used to own) and that would be easier on my older hands. When I learned that a solid body was coming out, I got very excited and ordered one.