PDA

View Full Version : Not a beginner, but I play like one on bass

fuadramses
08-30-2011, 08:14 AM
Admittedly, I’m posting not only to introduce myself, but also to keep whittling away at those five posts I need to get access to all of Elmeaux’s great fret memorization tools in a different thread.

Anyway, I’ve been playing guitar and bass off and on for more than 20 years (frightening), but my skills are hugely limited. I can pick out tunes really well, play my favorite songs, etc., but I still don’t feel like I know what I’m doing. I’m embarrassed to tell people that I’ve “played” for twenty years…when they actually hear me, they’ll think I’ve been playing for 20 days.

Anyway, I decided I really wanted to do this right, so here I am. I admit to being completely intimidated by reading music and memorizing the fretboard. I started lesson two last night and it scared the hell out of me, so I’m going to try to familiarize myself a little more with the fretboard. I will not let this intimidate me this time!

Thanks for the support from everyone on here – I’m sure you’ll be hearing from me again.

Bassix
08-30-2011, 09:32 AM
Welcome to Thunder Row, Fuadramses!

Feel free to jump in on the conversations and I hope you enjoy the course!

Elmeaux
08-30-2011, 09:40 AM
Keep posting, Fuad. Lots of great threads to comment on!

:cool:

fuadramses
08-30-2011, 09:54 AM
Bassix - I have to say, even though I'm only one lesson in, I've already un-learned some bad habits. Choosing this course was definitely the right choice, and I'm glad to be here.

As soon as I break through my fretboard phobia, I think I'll be on my way...thanks for the support!

BrianVW
08-30-2011, 11:15 AM
Hey, Fuad -- glad to see you here!

DONNIE B
08-30-2011, 08:26 PM