PDA

View Full Version : Hello

colder
02-25-2012, 08:38 PM
Hi - new student here. I am 32, I live in the Minneapolis / St. Paul area though I am originally from Kansas City.

I started playing guitar a few years ago, but while browsing craigslist I saw an ad for one of those Squier bass starter packages for $100. I couldn't resist so I bought it, and then after working with that I found myself enjoying bass quite a bit. Then I put the bass down for a while but I wanted to start up again recently and I found a nice used Precision Bass for sale, so I picked that up and this course was recommended to me by a friend, so here I am.

I think my heart lies here rather than with electric guitar, which I enjoy, but something about bass is drawing me in more. My short term goal is to have fun and learn every day. My medium term goal is to finish this course and perform in the worship ensemble at church. My long term goal is to have my obituary in Bass Player. (Just kidding - sort of!) :p

Hope to enjoy meeting with all of you and learning from you and this fine instrument.

Elmeaux
02-25-2012, 09:55 PM
Welcome, Colder. You've got bass fever, for sure!

We have several here who play in worship bands, so join right in!!

I'm very interested in hearing that a friend recommended TMBG to you. Care to tell us that story? Did they take the course themselves?

Anyway, welcome!! Good luck with your lessons.

colder
02-25-2012, 10:13 PM
Well, I was oversimplifying. I heard about it from the gang over on the Learn & Master Guitar forums!

Thanks for the warm welcome, now back to the lessons for me!

SilverFlame46
02-26-2012, 06:27 AM
Welcome, colder. Glade to have you aboard. Good Luck with your lessons!!!

Ditto
02-26-2012, 11:05 AM
Welcome to the ROW of THUNDER! Fender P, nice way to start.

DONNIE B
02-26-2012, 12:00 PM