PDA

View Full Version : Hello. My name is Bill, and I'm a bass player.

Dark Shades Bill
08-28-2010, 11:50 AM
Hello, all.

My course arrived this week.

I started playing bass about a year and a half ago, but I've played several instruments (woodwind) throughout my life.
I'm a 40-year old professional project manager with a passion for playing music.

Like I said, I've played other instruments, but they were seldom a real pleasure to play.
But when I picked up the bass, I instantly felt that I had found my true voice.

I started taking lessons about a year ago.
I recently sat back to took a real close look at my progress, and was not happy.
I saw an add for this course in an old Bass Player magazine, and gave it a shot.

I played the first disc yesterday.
Roy's technique of moving your right-hand thumb along the strings immediately improved my tone.
My teacher taught me to NEVER move my thumb off the pickup - and I hated the way the low strings rang. My teacher showed me all kinds of strange and uncomfortable ways to mute the strings with my left hand, but Roy's method just makes more sense - and it's what I've been doing somewhat naturally anyway - and have been "corrected" for it repeatedly by my teacher.

Long story short: I fired my teacher.
If I can see immediate progress like this on just Lesson 1 of Roy's course, then I think I'll be much happier in the long run - and the course will pay for itself in 3 weeks (yes - he was an expensive teacher too).

Looking forward to rumblin' with ya!
Dark Shades Bill

SilverFlame46
08-28-2010, 12:07 PM
Hey Bill, welcome to Thunder Row and TMBG. Your comments concerning the TMBG course is consistent with everyone that has purchased it. You know you made the right move already. Don't be a stranger to this forum as this is a GREAT place to learn also. Welcome aboard Bill and it is nice to meet you!!!

jthomas353
08-28-2010, 02:14 PM
Hello Bill,

Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy the TMBG course as much as I do.