PDA

View Full Version : Speakon Cable Choices

JohnMSchiavone_Bass
04-04-2013, 04:32 PM
I just picked up a DNS-112N and an Aguilar Tone Hammer 500. This is my first amp/cab with Speakon connectors. Does anyone have a reccomendation for good cables? My local store stocks Conquest, and I have heard of Monster. Thanks.

Elmeaux
04-05-2013, 03:44 AM
Sorry, John. I have no experience with those. The 500 sounds like a bassist's dream, though.

Anybody else know the Speakons?

Nicki
04-05-2013, 07:44 AM
Don't buy Monster cables. They're ridiculously overpriced and no better than any other cables (well, maybe the super super cheap cables). Anyway, not worth it.

I have a Conquest cable on my Berg/GK. They're made in the US and have a really nice locking feature. I've got no complaints at all about it. That'd be where I'd spend my money, personally.

ghsky1
04-05-2013, 10:21 AM
I just bought a 3ft cable for my new amp and cab. I went with Mogami (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/mogami-gold-speaker-cable) because of its reputation for quality and lifetime warranty. It is their "gold" line, but I got the 1/4" connectors instead of the speakOn. With a $10 coupon I paid about $35. Now I wish I had gone with the 6ft length for only $9 more.
Why didn't I get speakOn? The 1/4" plug cable retails for $53, the speakOn retails for $110 - the wire itself may be a heavier gauge there, but don't quote me on that. As far as connection quality, I have never seen anything that says speakOn is superior to 1/4". Only that speakOn will keep your equipment from inadvertently being unplugged. But I have to wonder at what cost for keeping the connection? If someone accidentally pulls a cable and the speakOn is connected, will it yank my amp head off the speaker it is sitting on ( I have a lightweight MarkBass LittleMark Tube 800 )?