Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hear The Light

Default Article: See The Light

- low life -

Let's see...off shore manufacturer, an optical system that must be kept clean (dirty light / lens means degradation of perception), technology that may not be settled science as applied to bass guitars...it may need time to prove itself to the industry. But it offers a new and creative approach to traditional pick-up engineering.

It's not a new thing. Been out since about 2005. I had just never seen it before.

It's a speciality market, for sure, but it has a pretty impressive following of bassists who use it.

I like that sound.... Would like to hear it through TUBES!

You think GENZ is paying that guy?

5. Default

I've been playing a 5 string LW on and off since the early 2000's. The bass is definitely not for every one but the bass does sound nice. There can be a slight learning curve in regards to setting up the action and intonation the instrument. The qaulity is very nice and the weight is very comfortable. One of the more interesting aspects of the LW is how much low end one can get from that oddity of a pickup system. And the lows are not muddy at all. Very clean and even.

The best thing one can do is give a Lightwave bass a spin yourself. You really might be surprised at what you discover.

Jauqo

Hey, Jauqo -

Good to hear from you. If there's an LW at NAMM in Nashville this summer, I'll give it a try. Hope to see you there!
    David

7. Default

Thank you David. Definitely check one out if you see one at summer NAMM.

Jauqo

A bit of resurrecting an old thread here, but I was searching the forum for anything on this bass. I think (depending up an answer from the manufacturer about fretless vs freted) I'm pulling the trigger on one tomorrow. Looks like an interesting bass.

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Alan View Post