Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4 or 5 Strings?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default 4 or 5 Strings?

Hi, Everyone;

As I mentioned before, I'm a long time guitarist who is new to this bass stuff. So please forgive me for asking a silly question...but what is the difference between a 4, 5 and 6 string bass? Should I consider getting a 5 or 6 string model? Is it easier to learn on 4 strings and add additional strings later, or should I start out with 5 or 6 strings? Or should I stick with 4 strings. I look forward to your thoughts...

Thanks in advance,
    Brian

I would love a five-stringer, but the bass I fell in love with had only four.

If you're just starting out and have never tried one, I would recommend going to the music store and hanging a five-stringer around your neck just to check out that awesome B string. If she talks to you, think about it instead of the four.

Just remember though, that Roy's lessons are done with a four-stringer, so you'd have some extra work ahead of you. The people here who already play fives will be better at telling you how the lessons go with a fiver.

Six would be a bit much for me, though.

- low life -

3. Default

I like the 4string myself and until i can make it sound as good as Roy im fine with it. theres really only 4 extra low notes although u can cover more range without moving around so much.

I play 4, 5 and 6 string basses.

The four is my old 72 Fender P bass. Learned on it many years ago and still my go to bass for blues. Roy does use a 4 string for the TMBG lessons, but he certainly does not only play a 4 stringer.