+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bass Effects Units

Default Bass Effects Units

I realize there is quite a bit of info on TR about effects units and/or pedals, but it seems to be spread out and specific only to a particular item. So please forgive any redundancy. I'm thinking adding an effects unit if it makes sense to do so, and I'm interested in getting some opinions on:

1. Is this a worthwhile addition a bass player's kit? and
    2. If so, could you comment on specific models that you have used and like?

I've played around with a few of them at guitar center and they seem as though they would add some interesting variations in sound during a performance. On the other hand, it seems like a lot of opinions that I've read trend toward "I can get all the variation I need directly from the amp". I'm relatively new to the bass world and am curious about others' take on this.

Also, several of the multi-effects units seem to have functions that would be helpful in practicing.

Any opinions would be much appreciated. I know it's all about the desired sound and that, like opinions, cuts a wide swath, but I'm interested in hearing what you guys have to say. Thanks!

I like effects on the bass. Some people are very traditional in that they prefer only the cleanest, purest thunder, but I love tremolo and chorus pedals, octave pedal, and all manner of distortion effects.

My opinion is that all these effect tools add greatly to your bass sound and are worth investigating.

- low life -