+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rocksmith

Default Rocksmith

Anybody heard of this? I don't remember seeing it. Some may find it usable.

Line6bassmanTR

GO LOW!!!STAY HIGH!!!ON BASS THAT IS!!!

looks cool i don,t know any thing about ps3 or xbox.
    Let's Play Bass!

Looks similar to Rockband. I learn a lot of great basslines from Rockband. In fact, I've a recording of one of my practice lessons way back from when I first started the game. I'll post it later. Any way, any how, right?

- low life -

4. Default

I have Rocksmith since launch and they only added the bass element this past September. It was announced a while back and I couldn't wait for it.

That being said, here is my take on it:

It's a GREAT game and a lot of fun but as a beginner, I found myself throwing any technique I'd learned out the window in an attempt to keep up with the approaching notes. I didn't view that as a good thing. The interface is clunky, loading times are ridiculously long and you have to tune your guitar before every single thing you do. The amount of time it takes from the time you turn on the console and begin playing a song can be nearly 10 minutes. After you finish a song, there are many clicks and load times to get back to the song list and again you have to choose, then tune, then play. It's quite frustrating. I think a lot of the "love" for Rocksmith is because it truly is the only game of its kind and almost got it right. Rock Band Pro requires a specific guitar and has a terrible vertical string layout. Rocksmith lets you plug any guitar or bass in and comes with the cable to connect.

Another issue is that Rocksmith, unlike Rock Band and other games, has a dynamic difficulty thing going on there. That means if you are playing a song and get a phrase correct-- whether perfect or just by the skin of your teeth-- the game thinks you've mastered that phrase and next time it throws even more notes at you.