Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello. I am new to the scene.

1. Default Hello. I am new to the scene.

My name is keith, I live in columbus in, and I've been playing bass for about 5 months now. It's been a struggle. I started taking lessons from a local musician and felt as if I just wasn't learning much, after months of taking lessons from this guy I decided to fire him and pick up TMBG. I am hoping that this will give me a solid ground and start. As of now, I think my biggest struggle is learning the notes on the fretboard. Even after playing for 5 months, I am still struggling w/ this. Any advice on how to make this easier? Any info will help.

I currently play on a fender standard j bass and a fender jazz bass special (duff mckagan signature). Both great basses w/ different sounds.

Welcome, Keith! Glad to have you with us!

- low life -

Welcome to The Row, Keith! I believe this course will surely give you a solid foundation in bass. As far as learning the notes of the fretboard, there will be as many ideas as there are notes. I had the advantage of learning a little guitar first. In that, I had to learn first the sixth string barre chords then fifth string chords. They are the same as the third and fourth string of the bass, so I was half way there to begin with.