+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mono rail bridges

Default mono rail bridges

I am sure the experienced players here already know this, but since I am a novice, this was a pleasant discovery for me. I recently acquired a used Ibanez SR 1005 EFM with a monorail style bridge. This bridge design seems to have significantly less cross-string resonance compared to one piece bridges. Which is great to a novice struggling with muting techniques. I was wondering if this is entirely due to the bridge design or if it is a function of overall guitar design. This is the only guitar I have with this type of bridge, so I have no frame of reference. Anyone else have this same experience with reduced unwanted resonance with this type of bridge? If this type of bridge reduces unwanted cross-string resonance, then it is the way to go in my humble opinion.

From what I understand about these "individual string" bridges, they can isolate sympathetic crosstalk between strings. I believe they are a bit more fussy when setting intonation (ie. don't loosen the grub screws too much or the inner bits can simply fall out).

Appear to have been largely used when the bass builder is looking for very narrow, or very wide string spacings.

I haven't messed with the setup on this bass yet, but it seems very nicely adjusted. It is the beat playing bass I have ever had my hands on, but I will check the intonation and investigate the way it is adjusted. I must say the need for muting seems to be reduced significantly.

Never tried them either, but it would be something to feel/hear the difference!

- low life -

Good morning, Kimgee
    Like you, have the same model Ibanez, with the mono rail bridge. Tobias man is correct. This type of bridge is a bit more fussy to adjust because of the locking screws but, assuming the builder put the bridges in the right place, the intonation is about the same, vis-a vis accuracy, as with my Jazz.